The Weekend Bra

941FC44E-B6FD-4ABE-A2E4-0AEF7F445D03

The Weekend Bra

 

  Saturday morning and I am awake early, the day full of possibilities. I made a date to meet a friend for breakfast, but other than that my day is wide open.

  One of the best parts about having a day off for me is that I can wear the weekend bra. 

  Let me explain. As with many women of my age and size, gravity has not been kind. Parts of my body point unerringly towards terra firma. 

 The bra I wear for work is kind of tight and uncomfortable, but it fights the pull of the earth and lifts my breasts and keeps them tethered. 

  That’s important, because in my job I do a lot of sitting and standing and walking.

   I’m doing this for 8 hours and it would be awkward to have my breasts bounce around. They would get in the way.

  Not that I’m that well endowed, but it makes a difference in how I move. To say nothing of how self conscious I would be, thinking that I would be noticed for all the wrong reasons. 

  Nope. Better to keep the girls battened down for work.

  The bra is the first piece of clothing that comes off as I walk through the door of my house during the week.

  I usually unhook the thing in the car on the way home cause I can’t wait. One handed, under the coat and two or three layers of clothing. I’m no Houdini so I usually do this in the parking lot of my job before I start driving and put on my seatbelt. 

  On the weekend, I give my breasts a break and me too. I wear the weekend bra and it is more of a loose mooring, rather than an unforgiving piece of unseen discomfort. 

  I celebrate the weekend in small ways. A leisurely drive to a place I’ve not seen before. A meal with friends. Shopping for the week’s victuals. Giving the dog a bath and a blow dry and then going on a relaxed walk. Sitting and being quiet and thinking.

  The idea of shifting gears, enjoying my time off, relaxing into the moments of the day. Taking time for the little routines that make up my life. Simple and easy and enjoyable.   

  Like putting on the weekend bra.

  

  

The Weekend Bra

About Susan Popper

An animal lover, a medical technologist a person trying to live a full creative life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Weekend Bra

  1. Abrah says:

    Ahhhhhh, breathing deeply while reading this 😉 totally TOTALLY understand this.

    Like

  2. Karla Kuriger says:

    I 100% agree. I have “going out” bras, and my “house bras.” I am not well endowed either, but they still have a mind of their own, and I am NEVER comfortable allowing them their complete freedom!! If I am home, by myself, MAYBE I will wear a big lumpy sweatshirt with a cami underneath and no bra. But, if there is a chance that people will be coming by, then NOPE, on goes the bra. I don’t even like being bra-less around my husband. So, I GET you!!

    Like

  3. Daryl Bates says:

    Sorry I’m so late in commenting, but my favorite look on the weekend is no bra at all! If I’m not going anywhere, I see no reason to wear a bra while dusting or doing laundry. The only one who witnesses my “let it all hang out” look is the dog, and she doesn’t seem to care. 🙂

    Like

  4. Editor says:

    Bravo Susan! Who would have thought an intriguing blog post could be written on this subject!

    Like

Leave a comment